How furikake has changed my life forever

23 08 2010

I’ve worked at a Thai restaurant before, here in the states, and I’ve seen customers pour soy sauce over rice, and though “who does that? oh.. right”. A few years later, I found out that soy sauce was something that’s forbidden in Japan, along with placing chopsticks vertically stood up on the rice bowl {resembles incense sticks (also placed in rice, but uncooked) used to mourn the dead}

Sure, the customers don’t really have any ill intentions… they simply want to “season” the rice, as they would normally do with bread. “No one in their right mind would eat plain bread, especially when there are condiments around”; and they follow this logic.

We can question the use of soy sauce as a condiment on rice, almost indefinitely: it changes the texture, makes it ridiculously salty. I mean you’re using the rice to basically add texture, mass, and “soak” up the savoriness and saltiness from the rice! This particular aspect of rice cannot be compromised.

Enter the furikake; dry season that is meant to be lightly sprinkled over rice consisting of primarily toasted sesame seeds and tiny stripes of seaweed, along with other dry, ground flakes of fishes, vegetables, or even egg (along with trace amounts of salt and/or msg). This is undoubtedly the proper way to season rice, mainly due to the fact that it doesn’t affect any of the uncompromisable aspects of rice that I’ve before mentioned.

I’d long before known of furikake, but I had never bothered to purchase a pack of it. Now, I have, and I shall continue to do so… Never again will I have to eat plain rice.

Anyhow, here’s a list of terms that helped me identify which flavor of furikake I desired:

  • Yasai     | Vegetables
  • Sake       | Salmon (I think this was)
  • Tamago| Eggs

There’s also a hibiscus flavor, but I don’t remember the name for those, but it’s a purple flower. It’s very fragrant, but unless you like hibiscus tea or edible flowers, I would suggest going to savory route.

So if your primary staple is plain rice (not dirty rice or curry infused rice (like in chicken bhriyani), and not corn, wheat, or potatoes, give furikake a chance, you won’t regret it.

Actions

Information

One response

3 09 2010
alucard13mm

it seems some kids like to soak their rice in soy sauce too hehe. i do like to put some chinese BBQ pork sauce on my rice though. the sauce the pork is sitting in at the place u buy it. other than that ^-^ i prefer my rice plain.

Leave a Reply

